PO Box 12-123, Penrose Auckland, New Zealand Tel. 64 + 9 + 525 6903

Fax. 64 + 9 + 525 6943

Email: athleticsaucklandinc@xtra.co.nz **Website:** www.athleticsauckland.co.nz



Athletics Auckland Incorporated. Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting.

Held In The Officials Lounge, Mt Smart 4th July 2019 at 7.00pm

Present:

Life Members: Murray McKinnon (President), Peter Booker, Jim Hogg (Treasurer), Rodger Brickland, Dianne Craddock, Paul Craddock

Board Members: David Sim (AAI Board Chairman), Anthony Curry, Bryce Hall, Delegates & Invited Guests: Terry Jensen (Manurewa), Raewyn Rodger (Secretary to the Board), Daniel Lewis (Avondale), Kat Saifiti (Avondale), Denise Cheese (Eastern) Mike Trathen (Pakuranga), Adrian Edge (Pakuranga), Bryan Bates (University), Keith Procter (University), Neil Bartlett (Coaching Development), Rodney Thorne (RWA), Tony Sargisson (RWA), Fiona Kelso (Pt Chevalier), Glen Millen (Papakura), Mel Brearley-Tipene (Papakura), John Maka (W.E.T.A), Heidi Maka (W.E.T.A), Elisapeta Leitu (AMMI), Pawan Marhas (AMMI), Emily Scanlan (AMMI), Meryl Hartshorne (Takapuna), Michael Hartshorne (Takapuna), Peter Wyatt (Roskill South), Cam Mackey (Hillsborough), Alex Radley (NHB), Peter Richardson (Lynndale), Sue Potter (ACA), Fiona Yelas (Waitakere City)

Welcome by AGM Chairman:

 Murray McKinnon called the meeting to order and welcomed all Honorary Life Members, Honorary Officers and attendees to the AAI AGM.

Apologies:

• Fiona Maisey, (Board), Nicola Collinge (Helensville)

Apologies received: Moved Denise Cheese, Sec Peter Wyatt, Carried

Obituaries:

Murray McKinnon asked that we remember those in our sport who passed away
during the year and the contributions they have made to athletics. He acknowledged
the following from his Presidents report Graham Davy (OBE), Len Wilson, Michael
Baker, Allan Dark, Doug Monds, Ron Milicich, Beverley Booker, Wally Opperman,
Bill Baillie (MNZM), Peter Callagher, Yvette Corlett (nee Williams) (CNZM MBE),
John Fenton (QSM), John Mildenhall,



Minutes of the 2018 AGM:

• The minutes of the AAI AGM 12th July 2018 were approved as a true and accurate record.

Moved Bryce Hall, Sec Jim Hogg, Carried

Matters Arising: Nil

Appointment of Scrutineers: Dianne Craddock (nominated by Mike Trathan), Denise Cheese (nominated by Rodger Brickland), Carried.

Special General Meeting - AAI Consitution 28/2/19 – Proposed Amendments 7.(b) and (c) not discussed or voted on.

• Proposed Amendments 7.(b) and (c) read to meeting and discussed prior to paper vote. Voting returned **For** proposed amendments.

Remit: From Takapuna AAH Club Inc Amendment to rule 6.5(d)

- Existing clause: The Convenors of the Corss Country & Road, Track & Field and Junior committees will also be appointed as Directors (on an annual basis) unless they have not already been apointed under clauses (a) (b) (c).
- Proposed clause: The Convenors **or their nominee** of the Corss Country & Road, Track & Field and Junior committees will also be appointed as Directors (on an annual basis) unless they have not already been apointed under clauses (a) (b) (c).
- Mike Hartshorne spoke to the Remit, Meeting discussed prior to paper vote. Voting returned **For Proposed Remit Change.**

The AAI Constitution will be updated to include all amendments.

President's Report:

• Murray Mckinnon spoke to his report which had been previously distributed with AAI AGM information and incorporated into the AAI Annual Report. He mentioned individual athlete highlights from events throughout the year and congratulated the athletes/coaches/officials who gained NZ Honours. As per previous years he made mention of the many Volunteers and Officials who give their time to administer the sport and acknowledged the work done by the Board, and Conveners/Delegates (Track & Field, Children's, Cross Country & Road) as well as the Office Staff. He thanked Anthony Curry, Fiona Maisey and Sasha Daniels as they step down from the Board for their commitment to Athletics. A copy of President's Report is attached to the Minutes.

Moved Murray McKinnon, Sec Meryl Hartshorne that Presidents Report be received, Carried.

Financial Report:

- Jim Hogg presented the AAI 2018/19 Financial Accounts which have been audited by JSA Audit Ltd. Audit Report attached to Financial Accounts.
- Board Accounts show a group loss of \$17,499. Of the loss result, \$22964 was depreciation expense on equipment so a positive cash position for the year.
- Athlete numbers continue to drop on a yearly basis, which affects registration income.

- Peter Wyatt asked about the variance in T&F Officials Reimbursements expenditure
 over the last two years. Raewyn Rodger advised that Officials reimbursement is
 made to School Officials and this is neutral to the income side of School Officials.
 The condensed Financials show Expense of School Officials and Officials Expenses
 together. The increase is the purchase of AAI Officials Shirts (which had no expense
 the previous year) and Officials Luncheon which Track & Field cover.
- Entry income and event expenses for all grades of Auckland Track & Field
 Championships was done through Track & Field account. The profit share to T&F
 and Junior Sections was worked on a percentage split of entries. This did not include
 programming and event coordination extra wages which was covered under the
 Board.
- The accounts were moved for Approval:

Moved Jim Hogg, Sec Anthony Curry, Carried

2018/19 Board Budget:

- Jim Hogg presented the Board Budget previously approved by the AAI Board.
- He commented on the decline in registration numbers which is reflected at the bottom of the budget.

Merit Awards:

• No Nominations

Honorary Life Membership:

No Nominations

Election of Officers:

David Sim assumed the chair for the election of President:

- **President**: One nomination Murray McKinnon. Elected. This year represents 20 years as AAI President for Murray and 50 years as AAI Announcer. The meeting noted their appreciation of Murray's commitment to athletics.
- **Patron**: No Nominations, position not filled
- Board of Directors: 2 Vacancies, 4 Nominations.

 Elisapeta Leitu, Daniel Lewis, Alex Radley, Tony Sargisson

Each nominee spoke to the meeting for 2 minutes, prior to paper vote.

Elected Daniel Lewis, Alex Radley.

• Auditor: JSA Audit Ltd nominated.

Moved Jim Hogg, Seconded Paul Craddock, Carried

• Treasurer: Jim Hogg nominated,

Moved Murray McKinnon, Seconded Peter Booker, Carried

• Solicitor: No nominations, Position not filled

General Business:

 David Sim spoke to his report included in the Annual Report and noted his appreciation of the commitment from all sectors of the Sport.

Meeting Closed 8.11pm